3 Commando Brigade

Realism. Tactics. Fun.

+ New Topic + Post Reply
19 posts in this topic
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 2:10 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Mission Creator

Posts: 36

desktop build


hi guys am not really a pc guru but can you guys have a look at this build pc specialist recommended I just ask that it could run arma 3 on ultra settings ,would this do the job ?? 


https://www.pcspecialist.co.uk/saved-configurations/intel-z270-pc/7HsNQWkwZF


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:11 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Mission Creator
Mission Creator
Ribbon Moderator

Posts: 166
Location: Netherlands
Ribbons:
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant
CPU: Intel Core i5-7600K 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor  ($228.89 @ OutletPC) 
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler  ($24.88 @ OutletPC) 
Motherboard: Asus STRIX Z270-E GAMING ATX LGA1151 Motherboard  ($186.99 @ SuperBiiz) 
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory  ($126.99 @ Amazon) 
Storage: Western Digital Blue 500GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive  ($149.94 @ OutletPC) 
Video Card: Asus GeForce GTX 1070 8GB Video Card  ($389.99 @ Newegg) 
Case: Corsair 500R Black ATX Mid Tower Case  ($69.99 @ Newegg) 
Total: $1177.67
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-04-29 11:10 EDT-0400


More performance less price.

i7 is slightly overkill unless streaming.
1050 underkill.
If needed add another 2TB drive for 50 quid

Total price 909,65 pounds


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:44 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:

Posts: 116
Location: Wales
Ribbons:
Media Man (1)
I second what Guipo said.

If no one hates you, you're doing it wrong.


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:44 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Modder
Mission Creator
Media Manager

Posts: 959
Location: Bristol, UK
Ribbons:
Modding Team (1) Kodak Commander (1) Public Regular (1)
Operation Medal (3) Weapons Operator (1)
I'd possibly add a little more RAM than 8gb too


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:52 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Modder
Mission Creator
Site Admin

Posts: 6365
Ribbons:
Service Medal (4) Modding Team (1) Frag of the match (1)
Operation Medal (1)
Hi McCabe,

As almost everyone will tell you, Arma requires a fast CPU more than a powerful graphics card.

Also now that we have a 64bit .exe, you will benefit by running Win10 64bit and lots of RAM, preferably 16GB+.

For reference I have an old i5 2500k, 16GB ram and a 970 card, running 1080p with ultra, and usually get 40-60fps in SP and 25-45 FPS in MP. Occasionally I'm at the low end of performance compared to others, but generally my FPS is quite acceptable.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:44 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Online
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:

Posts: 595
Location: Chelmsford, England
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1)
I remember Parks telling me something about being able to change ArmA 3 from being CPU intensive to relying entirely on your GPU through the Nvidia Control Panel. Haven't tried it, but he did say it worked wonders.

Obviously correct me if I'm wrong, Parker mate.

That one lad from Essex.


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:59 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Marine
Marine
Other duties:
Mission Creator

Posts: 463
Location: Wales, UK
Ribbons:
Service Medal (1) Operation Medal (1)
Guipo has pretty much put forward your best choice.

Just to second what a couple others have said - get more than 8GB RAM. I'm on 8GB and although it does the job there are lot of times where I wish I had more!

Also you could probably get away without having a CPU cooler providing your case has adequate cooling. I have an i5-3570k with the stock heatsink and fan and it works a charm, granted I do have 3 huge case fans assisting.

Image
got my sig here - http://forums.eugensystems.com/viewtopi ... 01&t=37776
PC specs


Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:53 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Mission Creator
Mission Creator
Ribbon Moderator

Posts: 166
Location: Netherlands
Ribbons:
Public Regular (1) Operation Medal (3)
Woops appologies that had to be 16GB RAM in that setup! Thanks Eotech for pointing that out!

Nvm that is 16GB in the setup.


Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:03 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal
Other duties:
Training Instructor

Posts: 406
Location: Norwich
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Donator (1) Frag of the match (1)
Leadership (1) Operation Medal (2)
Apollo wrote:
Hi McCabe,

As almost everyone will tell you, Arma requires a fast CPU more than a powerful graphics card.

Also now that we have a 64bit .exe, you will benefit by running Win10 64bit and lots of RAM, preferably 16GB+.

For reference I have an old i5 2500k, 16GB ram and a 970 card, running 1080p with ultra, and usually get 40-60fps in SP and 25-45 FPS in MP. Occasionally I'm at the low end of performance compared to others, but generally my FPS is quite acceptable.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

For reference, I just upgraded from a 970 to a 1080Ti, this gained me 4Fps at the same settings as the 970.


Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:51 pm     Super secret spam barrier
Offline
Corporal
Corporal
Other duties:
Public Events Coordinator
Mission Creator
Media Manager
Operations Coordinator

Posts: 1192
Ribbons:
Service Medal (2) Donator (1) Leadership (1)
Public Regular (1)
Sanders wrote:
I remember Parks telling me something about being able to change ArmA 3 from being CPU intensive to relying entirely on your GPU through the Nvidia Control Panel. Haven't tried it, but he did say it worked wonders.

Obviously correct me if I'm wrong, Parker mate.


Your pretty much spot on bud. Option to change physx from auto to either CPU or GPU.

I selected GPU when I had the 970 and it massively helped! I still do the same with my 1070 build and 1080's rig


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PC SPECS


+ New Topic + Post Reply


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

phpBB © Forum Software
© 3 Commando Brigade Gaming Community
All images belong to their respective owners


3CB Modern design by Jamie Goodson
WysiBB